Your colleagues

Crassidis receives J. Leland Atwood Award


Published January 10, 2017

John Crassidis

John Crassidis

Engineering faculty member John L. Crassidis is the recipient of the J. Leland Atwood Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

The J. Leland Atwood Award, co-sponsored by AIAA and the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), recognizes Crassidis for his “commitment to excellence in aerospace engineering education.”

He will receive the award at a recognition luncheon on Jan. 10 during the 2017 AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition in Grapevine, Texas.

Crassidis is CUBRC Professor in Space Situational Awareness in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, and director of the Center for Multisource Information Fusion (CMIF).

His recent work has focused on tracking space debris. As director of CMIF, he leads a team of researchers focusing on basic and applied research in multiple-source information processing environments, such as in multiple-sensor or multiply-instrumented systems.

Crassidis is also principal investigator for UB’s participation in the Air Force’s University Nanosat Program and NASA’s CubeSat Initiative. He has supervised more than 60 graduate students, many of whom have gone on to become professors and government program managers.

“John’s sustained excellence in research, education and dedication to our students has been exemplary,” says Kemper Lewis, professor and chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. “The UB Nanosat Lab he established continues to be recognized nationally in scholarship, broader impact and student involvement. Many students have said that their experience in the program was the highlight of their time at UB.”

A three-time UB alumnus — PhD ’93, MS ’91 and BS ’89 — Crassidis joined the UB faculty in 2001. His past honors include UB’s 2014 Richard T. Sarkin Award for Excellence in Teaching, the 2012 AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award, a 2006 AIAA Sustained Service Award and the Society of Automotive Engineers’ 2006 Ralph T. Teetor Educational Award. He was named a fellow of AIAA in 2015 and a fellow of the American Astronautical Society in 2014.