Students Receive Art Department Awards

By Sue Wuetcher

Release Date: May 11, 2001

BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Fourteen students in the Department of Art in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University at Buffalo have received 2000-01 departmental awards for their work.

Kathryn Cielewich of Buffalo and Kathleen Parzych of Akron, both juniors in the photography bachelor of fine arts (BFA) program, were selected by the art department to receive the Rumsey Award.

Established through the generosity of Buffalo painter Evelyn Rumsey Lord, the award is to be used for travel for artistic and personal enrichment or for tuition assistance for a summer studio art program outside of UB.

Cielewich will use the award to visit Greece to investigate classical culture and how it has dealt with female archetypes.

Parzych will participate in activities at the Chautauqua Institution, creating a photo documentary of the evolution of the institution from its simple beginnings to the elite cultural center it has become.

Karen Loria of Fairport, a junior in the photography BFA program, has received the Sally Hoskins Potenza Memorial Scholarship. The Potenza scholarship was established by the family of Sally Potenza, who was a promising young painter pursuing graduate studies in the UB art department at the time of her death.

Christopher Corbett of Getzville, Catherine Lanham of Amherst and Sarah Banasiak of Cheektowaga, all juniors in the painting concentration, were selected to receive the Philip C. and Virginia Cuthbert Elliott Painting Scholarship for their outstanding ability and interest in the area of artistic painting. The cash award is based on the ability and overall merit of the student.

The scholarship was established with a grant from the late Virginia Cuthbert Elliott. She and her late husband, Philip C. Elliott, served for 30 years as artists and art educators in Western New York, including lengthy tenures at the Albright Art School and at its successor, the UB Department of Art.

From 1941-69, Philip Elliott served successively as director of the art school and the first chair of the UB art department. Virginia Elliott taught art at both institutions from 1941-61. Both were a strong force in shaping the UB art department during its formative years.

Elizabeth Massa of Pittsford, a junior in the communication design program, is this year's recipient of the Julius Bloom Memorial Scholarship for excellence in typographic study.

Toby Bloom Schoellkopf established the Bloom Scholarship in memory of her father, who worked for several well-known printing companies, had a lifelong interest in the typographic arts and helped organize the first international conference of typographical arts in the mid-1960s.

Roseanne Lazar of Canisteo, a senior in the printmaking concentration, and Brenda Stynes of Hauppauge, a junior in the computer art BFA program, are the recipients of the Eugene L. Gaier Printmaking Award established last year by Gaier, UB professor emeritus of counseling, school and educational psychology who has had a long-time interest in the arts.

Adam Werth of Spencerport, a junior double-major in art and English, is the recipient of the Eugene L. Gaier Excellence in Drawing Award.

Jeffrey Hesser of Minneapolis, Minn., a candidate for a master of fine arts degree in the sculpture program who will graduate this year, and Ann Marie Lepkyj of Cheektowaga, a senior in the BFA program in computer art who is minoring in art history, received the Carl E. and Virginia W. Sentz Memorial Award.

Jeffrey Jarvis of Clifton Park and Kevin Karn of Lancaster, both juniors in the BFA program in communication design, have received the Dennis Domkowski Memorial Scholarship, awarded to juniors in the communication design or computer art program who show excellent potential for design. The award was established by Professional Communicators of Western New York.