Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award Program

The Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award (EGSMA) is given on an annual basis, to a member of the UB Graduate Faculty.

The nomination and selection process for EGSMA will occur during the fall semester of each academic year. The Graduate School will also submit the winner as UB's sole allowable nominee for that academic year's "Geoffrey Marshall Mentoring Award" which is administered by the Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools (NAGS) every spring.

The nomination period is now closed.

Eligibility Criteria

The criteria for EGSMA is as follows: Truly outstanding and sustained support and development of graduate students from course completion through research and subsequent career placement. This may be evidenced by providing sound advice with respect to an appropriate course of graduate study and associated course selection; encouraging and facilitating the best possible performance from students; generous giving of time or other measures of mentoring efforts; assisting unlikely or superficially unpromising students through to successful degree completion and subsequent career placement; advising and other assistance regarding the quality and quantity of student papers or other forms of publication and performance; and extraordinary efforts and success with student placements. These criteria are not meant to be exhaustive, but instead to suggest activities that might be demonstrated in a nomination package.

Only those individuals who are currently members of the UB Graduate Faculty and have held faculty appointment at UB for at least five years are eligible to be nominated. Each year's award winner will be chosen by a selection committee comprised of faculty appointed by the dean of the Graduate School. The winner will be publicly recognized at UB's annual Celebration of Faculty and Staff Excellence Ceremony.

Previous Winners


Paul Gollnick, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences


Sargur Srihari, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering


Read more about our 2017-18 winners.


Jennifer Read, Professor, Department of Psychology


Venu Govindaraju, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering


Read more about our 2016-17 award winners.


Margarita Dubocovich, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology


Mark O’Brian, Professor, Department of Biochemistry


Read more about our 2015-16 award winners


Rajan Batta, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering


Anthony Campagnari, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology


Yvonne Scherer, Associate Professor, School of Nursing


Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, Professor, Department of Geography


Sharon Evans, Professor, Department of Immunology, Roswell Park Graduate Division


Diana S. Aga, Professor, Department of Chemistry


Suzanne S. Dickerson, Associate Professor, School of Nursing


Thomas H. Feeley, Professor, Department of Communication


Paschalis Alexandridis, UB Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering


Luis Colón, Professor, Department of Chemistry