National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowships


The National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship Program awards over 100 fellowships each year to graduate students in the fields of science and engineering. Fellows may choose any accredited institution of higher education in the United States offering doctoral degrees in science or engineering. The tenure of the award is 36 months cumulatively, beginning in the fall of the year the fellowship is awarded. The evaluation of candidates will be based on all available evidence of ability, including academic records, recommendations regarding each applicant’s qualifications and the score obtained on the GRE. The award includes full payment of tuition and required fees. In addition, fellows receive a stipend to cover related living expenses.



Eligibility Requirements

  • U.S. citizenship.
  • Applicants must be enrolled in their final year of undergraduate studies or have completed no more than two years of full-time graduate study in the discipline in which they are applying.
  • Applicants must be in one of 15 supported disciplines:
    • Aeronautical and astronautical engineering
    • Biosciences
    • Chemical engineering
    • Chemistry
    • Civil engineering
    • Cognitive, neural and behavioral sciences
    • Computer and computational sciences
    • Electrical engineering
    • Geosciences
    • Materials science and engineering
    • Mathematics
    • Mechanical engineering
    • Naval architecture and ocean engineering
    • Oceanography
    • Physics

How to Apply

Campus Liaison

Elizabeth Colucci

Past Award Recipients at UB

Year Name Award Field(s) of Study Hometown Graduate School
2016 Matthew Falcone
Honorable Mention     Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering Cheektowaga, NY University of Colorado, Boulder
2012 Esther Buckwalter Recipient Environmental Engineering Alfred Station, NY Eastern Kentucky University
2011 Kristina Blank Honorable Mention Social Science Interdisciplinary Craryville, NY University of Washington
2009 Christopher Llop Recipient Electrical Engineering East Amherst, NY University of California, Berkeley
2008 Aaron Krolikowski Recipient Political Science and Social Science Interdisciplinary Glenwood, NY University of Oxford
2007 Kelly Miller Recipient      
2006 Peter Rizzo Recipient English Tonawanda, NY Cornell, NY