University at Buffalo - The State University of New York
Skip to Content

Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award Program

The Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award is given, on an annual basis, to a member of the UB Graduate Faculty as a result of a nomination and selection process that will occur during the fall semester of each academic year. The Graduate School will also submit the winner of the Mentoring Award as UB's sole allowable nominee for that academic year's "Geoffrey Marshall Mentoring Award" which is administered by the Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools (NAGS) every spring.

The 2016-2017 nomination period is currently closed.

2016-2017 Winners

We are pleased to announce that the winners of the Graduate School's "Excellence in Graduate Student Mentoring Award" for 2016-2017 are Dr. Jennifer Read, Professor, Department of Psychology and Dr. Venu Govindaraju, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering.  The Graduate School is proud to honor Drs. Read and Govindaraju for their outstanding and sustained support and development of graduate students through their mentoring activities. 


Read more about our 2016-2017 award winners.

Eligibility Criteria

The criteria for the Mentoring Award is as follows: Truly outstanding and sustained support and development of graduate students from course completion through research and subsequent career placement. This may be evidenced by providing sound advice with respect to an appropriate course of graduate study and associated course selection; encouraging and facilitating the best possible performance from students; generous giving of time or other measures of mentoring efforts; assisting unlikely or superficially unpromising students through to successful degree completion and subsequent career placement; advising and other assistance regarding the quality and quantity of student papers or other forms of publication and performance; and extraordinary efforts and success with student placements. These criteria are not meant to be exhaustive, but instead to suggest activities that might be demonstrated in a nomination package.

Only those individuals who are currently members of the UB Graduate Faculty and have held faculty appointment at UB for at least 5 years are eligible to be nominated. Each year's award winner will be chosen by a selection committee comprised of faculty appointed by the Vice Provost for Graduate Education/Dean of the Graduate School. The winner will be publicly recognized at UB's annual Celebration of Faculty and Staff Excellence Ceremony. 

Previous Winners



  • Dr. Rajan Batta, SUNY Distinguished Professor, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
  • Dr. Anthony Campagnari, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
  • Dr. Yvonne Scherer, Associate Professor, School of Nursing


  • Dr. Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, Professor, Department of Geography
  • Dr. Sharon Evans, Professor, Department of Immunology at the Roswell Park Cancer Institute and Research Professor in UB’s Roswell Park Graduate Division


  • Dr. Diana S. Aga, Professor, Department of Chemistry
  • Dr. Suzanne S. Dickerson, Associate Professor, School of Nursing
  • Dr. Thomas H. Feeley, Professor, Department of Communication


  • Dr. Paschalis Alexandridis, UB Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Dr. Luis Colón, Professor, Department of Chemistry